• Horses lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, cons adicin elit.

  • Small animals lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, cons adicin elit.

  • Volunteers lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, cons adicin elit.

Loading Events

For the first time ever, pairing the world’s great orchestras on one stage – members of the Los Angeles Philharmonic & the San Francisco Symphony.

Michael Francis, Music Director
David Chan & Scott Pingel, Artistic Partner


BACH: Concerto for Two Violins in D Minor

Soloists: Violins – Martin Chalifour and Nathan Cole.

A violin concerto of the Late Baroque era, composed around 1730.

W.A. MOZART: Serenade No. 6 in D Major “Serenata notturna,” K. 239

Soloists: Violins – Martin Chalifour and Helen Kim. Viola – Jonathan Vinocour. Bass – Scott Pingel.
Written by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in Salzburg, in 1776. Mozart’s father, Leopold Mozart, wrote the title and a January 1776 date on the original manuscript.

BOTTESINI: Gran Duo Concertante

Soloists: Violin – David Chan. Bass – Scott Pingel.
The Gran Duo Concertante for two double basses and orchestra was composed by the Italian double bass virtuoso Giovanni Bottesini in 1880. The piece was premiered by Bottesini and Luigi Negri, a former classmate of the composer. Negri was a student of Luigi Rossi at the Milan Conservatory at the same time as his more well-known colleague.

BRITTEN: Simple Symphony, Op. 4

The Simple Symphony, Op. 4, is a work for string orchestra or string quartet by Benjamin Britten. It was written between December 1933 and February 1934 in Lowestoft, using bits of score that the composer had written for the piano as a young teenager, between 1923 and 1926. It was composed for string orchestra and received its first performance in 1934 at Stuart Hall in Norwich, with Britten conducting an amateur orchestra.